Sat, 22 Feb 2020

Toss South Africa opted to bowl v Pakistan

South Africa won the toss again, but on this occasion opted to put Pakistan in to bat. Looking to bounce back from the five-wicket defeat in the first ODI, Faf du Plessis said he did not expect the Durban pitch to be much more lively, but backed his quick bowlers to raise their game. Speaking of the need to "pump more experience" into players ahead of the World Cup, legspinner Imran Tahir was rested with left-arm wristspinner Tabraiz Shamsi coming in, while Dane Paterson replaced Dwaine Pretorious.

Sarfraz Ahmed, meanwhile, was focused on continuing Pakistan's momentum after a stellar start to the ODI series. Seeking their third consecutive win in Durban against the hosts, Pakistan also made two changes. In a nod to the slightly quicker nature of the pitch, Pakistan handed an ODI debut to seam-bowling allrounder Hussain Talat in place of spin-bowling allrounder Imad Wasim. Shaheen Afridi came in for Usman Shinwari as a like-for-like replacement. A victory on Tuesday will put Pakistan 2-0 up in the five-match series.

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis (capt), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Kagiso Rabada, Dane Paterson, Duanne Olivier, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt&wk), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi

More North Korea News

Access More

Sign up for North Korea News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!