Mon, 16 Dec 2019

Fiji, Maori All Blacks name sides for series finale

18 Jul 2019, 22:12 GMT+10

Cape Town - Fiji head coach John McKee has named a formidable side for their final game of a two-Test series against the Maori All Blacks on Saturday.

With so much depth in the squad, McKee has made 10 changes to his XV which beat the Maori All Blacks 27-10 at Suva's ANZ Stadium last week.

Veteran prop Campese Ma'afu makes his start for this season together with Lee-Roy Atalifo and hooker Veremalua Vugakoto in the front-row.

Former Fiji U20 player Tevita Ratuva will partner up with Apisalome Ratuniyarawa in the locks while Dominiko Waqaniburotu and Mosese Voka will be on the flanks.

Henry Seniloli starts at halfback and Alivereti Veitokani shifts to the flyhalf position. Jale Vatubua and Patrick Osbourne return to boost the Flying Fijians backline.

Meanwhile, Maori All Blacks head coach Clayton McMillan has retained faith in the playing 23 that played Fiji in Suva last week, despite a disappointing 27-10 loss.

In addition to a few positional changes, the main switch in this week's team sees five of last week's replacements pick up starting positions in Rotorua this weekend.

Among them are loose forward Whetukamokamo Douglas and scrumhalf Bryn Hall, who along with Alex Nankivell, Jordan Hyland and Pari Pari Parkinson will all run on for the Maori All Blacks this week. They swap with Akira Ioane, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Fletcher Smith and Teihorangi Walden who join hooker Nathan Harris as critical impact players from the bench.

Pouri Rakete-Stones has been bracketed alongside Haereiti Hetet.


Maori All Blacks

15 Shaun Stevenson, 14 Jordan Hyland, 13 Rob Thompson, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Otere Black, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Whetukamokamo Douglas, 7 Mitch Karpik, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Pari Pari Parkinson, 4 Tom Franklin, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Ash Dixon (captain), 1 Ross Wright

Substitutes: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Haereiti Hetet, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Fletcher Smith, 23 Teihorangi Walden


15 Kini Murimurivalu, 14 Patrick Osbourne, 13 Waisea Nayacalevu, 12 Jale Vatubua, 11 Filipo Nakosi, 10 Alivereti Veitokani, 9 Henry Seniloli, 8 Nemani Nagusa, 7 Mosese Voka, 6 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 5 Apisalome Ratuniyarawa, 4 Tevita Ratuva, 3 Lee-Roy Atalifo 2 Veremalua Vugakoto, 1 Campese Ma'afu

Substitutes: 16 Samuel Matavesi, 17 Joeli Veitayaki, 18 Luke Tagi, 19 Albert Tuisue, 20 John Dyer, 21 Serupepeli Vularika, 22 Sevanaia Galala, 23 Josh Matavesi

More North Korea News

Access More

Sign up for North Korea News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!